Pirate Shop Token Fact Check
Short answer: the two activations, the Dec 15, 2026 deadline, and the exclusions (real-money offers, gifting, passes) come from Epic's in-game text. Squad sharing and permanent items are widely reported but not stated by Epic. The odds are unknown: the "1 in 700,000" figure has no source.
Claim register summary
As of 2026-11-03: 35 claims checked against 15 sources.
| Label | Claims | What it means |
|---|---|---|
| In-game text | 7 | Wording on Epic's in-game reward or shop screen, as captured and quoted by the cited outlet |
| Reported | 20 | Consistent reports from dataminers, players or outlets; not stated by Epic in writing |
| Disputed | 3 | Sources disagree; each version is shown |
| No source | 2 | Repeated without any traceable source |
| False | 3 | Contradicted by the in-game text or the sources |
Epic has not published a news post about Pirate Shop Access, and it was not in the advance patch notes. When Epic publishes something, we will re-label the affected claims and log the change on Updates.
What it is
- In-game text The reward is called "Pirate Shop Access". Players call it the Pirate Shop token or Fortnite shop token. Sources: Timesaver.gg (Sam Okonkwo), Dexerto (Callum Doyle)
- In-game text One find gives two activations: one in 2026 and one in 2027. In-game text: "Plunder the Fortnite Item Shop - twice! Activate the Pirate Shop once in 2026 and once in 2027." Sources: Timesaver.gg (Sam Okonkwo), HYPEX on X, SpushFNBR on X
- Reported Each activation opens a 14-day window in which items sold for V-Bucks in the Item Shop can be claimed for free. Sources: Dexerto (Callum Doyle), HYPEX on X, Timesaver.gg (Sam Okonkwo)
Activation
- In-game text The 2026 activation must be used by Dec 15, 2026, 6 PM GMT-6 (Dec 16, 00:00 UTC). From an in-game capture reported by Beebom and quoted by Timesaver. Sources: Timesaver.gg (Sam Okonkwo), Beebom (Rishabh Sabarwal), Dexerto (Callum Doyle)
- Reported The 14 days start only when you press Activate. Nothing starts automatically. Sources: Dexerto (Callum Doyle), Timesaver.gg (Sam Okonkwo)
- Reported The 2027 activation can be used from Jan 1 to Dec 15, 2027. The time of day has not been published. Sources: Dexerto (Callum Doyle), Timesaver.gg (Sam Okonkwo)
- Reported Missing the 2026 deadline loses only the 2026 activation; the 2027 one is kept. Sources: Timesaver.gg (Sam Okonkwo)
- Reported To activate: open the Shop tab, select "Plunder the Item Shop" (bottom right), then press "Activate Now". Sources: Beebom (Rishabh Sabarwal), Timesaver.gg (Sam Okonkwo)
How to get it
- Reported Treasure Hunters (v43.00) went live on Nov 1, 2026, after downtime ended at 4 AM ET. Sources: Beebom, Shane the Gamer
- Reported Chest prizes come in tiers: standard items (locators, Golden Fireworks, extractors), cosmetics, and a top tier with Pirate Shop Access and golden skins. Tier names from a community post; the items match Hotspawn's prize list. Sources: Blortzen on X, Hotspawn (Jordan Ashley)
- Reported It is a Treasure Hunt prize that can roll when you open chests in Battle Royale during the Treasure Hunters mini-season. Sources: HYPEX on X, Dexerto (Callum Doyle), Timesaver.gg (Sam Okonkwo)
- Reported Other chest prizes reported in the pool: Solid Gold ASAP Rocky, Gold ASAP Rocky Gauntlets, Plunder in Paradise, a Mercedes car, Golden Llama Crew, Extraction Accelerator, Portable Extractor, Golden Fireworks, Sprite Locator and Lucky Locator. List from Hotspawn; weekly prizes change, and datamined weeks 3 to 5 were not in the files. Sources: Hotspawn (Jordan Ashley), Timesaver.gg (Sam Okonkwo)
- Reported Datamined files put the Pirate Shop in the Treasure Hunt prize pool every week. That does not mean a guaranteed weekly drop. Sources: HYPEX on X, Timesaver.gg (Sam Okonkwo)
- Reported If anyone in your squad or party finds it, everyone in the group gets it. Epic's reward text does not mention squads. Sources: LootTrackerFN on X, Fortnite.GG on X, Hotspawn (Jordan Ashley), Timesaver.gg (Sam Okonkwo)
- Reported You keep the prize even if you are eliminated after finding it; you do not need to win the match. Sources: Timesaver.gg (Sam Okonkwo)
- Reported Ranked lobbies do not offer it. Beebom says so; Timesaver lists Zero Build, Ranked and Reload as unconfirmed. No source says Ranked does offer it. Sources: Beebom (Rishabh Sabarwal), Timesaver.gg (Sam Okonkwo)
- Reported Arlong Park has produced finds and players have named Loguetown; both are chest-dense drops. No location is shown to change the odds. Sources: Timesaver.gg (Sam Okonkwo)
- Reported Chests refill over time in Treasure Hunters, so you can reopen them; the Fortune Sprite reveals nearby chests. Quoted from the patch notes by Timesaver. Sources: Timesaver.gg (Sam Okonkwo), Fortnite.GG on X
- Reported Suggested chest route: land at Lantern Landing, head west to Arlong Park, then southeast to Loguetown, and finish at Cursed Cavern. Rubber Resort is an alternative opener with regular and rare chests; The Chest is the buried-chest spot. A route for opening many chests; no route is shown to raise the odds per chest. Sources: Game Rant (Jake Fillery), GAMES.GG (Larc)
- Disputed Which chests count: Timesaver reads it as any chest; Fortnite.GG lists Treasure, Buried, Sprite and Rare chests; Beebom says "Treasure Hunt Chests". Sources: Timesaver.gg (Sam Okonkwo), Fortnite.GG on X, Beebom (Rishabh Sabarwal)
- Disputed Chest spawn counts differ by guide: Lantern Landing "over 46" (Game Rant) vs 45 regular + 4 rare (GAMES.GG); Arlong Park 39 vs 35 regular + 2 buried; Loguetown not counted vs 41 regular + 4 rare. Counts are possible spawns, not guaranteed chests. Sources: Game Rant (Jake Fillery), GAMES.GG (Larc)
- Disputed Chests can award it until the mini-season ends: Dec 5, 2026 in most reports, Dec 1 in one. Sources: Shane the Gamer, Timesaver.gg (Sam Okonkwo), The Big Lead
Odds
- Reported Epic has not published a drop rate. Sources: Dexerto (Callum Doyle), Timesaver.gg (Sam Okonkwo), Hotspawn (Jordan Ashley)
- Reported Player reports so far: one winner after about 150 chests; another player with nothing after 100 chests. Two data points do not give a rate. Sources: Dexerto (Callum Doyle), Timesaver.gg (Sam Okonkwo)
- No source "1 in 700,000" (0.000143%) odds. Repeated by some sites with no datamine, Epic statement or sample behind it. Sources: Beebom (Rishabh Sabarwal)
- No source About 1 in 1,000 (0.1%) for the top reward tier. A community estimate posted without data; it covers the whole top tier, not the Pirate Shop alone. Sources: Blortzen on X
What is free
- In-game text Included: outfits, emotes, pickaxes and other items sold for V-Bucks in the Item Shop. Sources: Timesaver.gg (Sam Okonkwo), Dexerto (Callum Doyle)
- In-game text Excluded: real-money offers, gifting, and pass levels and rewards. Sources: Timesaver.gg (Sam Okonkwo), Dexerto (Callum Doyle)
- In-game text Sidekicks: one free Sidekick you do not already own. Sources: Timesaver.gg (Sam Okonkwo), Dexerto (Callum Doyle)
- In-game text Not transferable. In-game text: "This treasure is not transferable." Sources: Timesaver.gg (Sam Okonkwo), Dexerto (Callum Doyle)
- Reported Jam Tracks are included. From the first winner, via Dexerto. Sources: Dexerto (Callum Doyle)
- Reported Items you claim during the window stay in your locker permanently. From the first winner; Epic's 14-day limit applies to claiming, not to the items. Sources: Dexerto (Callum Doyle), Timesaver.gg (Sam Okonkwo)
- False The token also unlocks Music or LEGO passes. Contradicts the in-game exclusion of pass levels and rewards. Sources: Timesaver.gg (Sam Okonkwo)
Myths
- False You can only get it if you do not own Save the World Founder's edition and have recording software running. Viral post wrongly attributed to HYPEX; no source supports it. Sources: Post on X, HYPEX on X
- False Sites can sell or generate Pirate Shop tokens or codes. The prize is not transferable and gives no V-Bucks or codes; sites selling or generating tokens are likely scams. Sources: Timesaver.gg (Sam Okonkwo)
How we label claims
We read each source in full and record what it says and what it bases it on. A claim is labelled in-game text only when a source quotes or captures Epic's own screen. If two credible sources disagree, it is disputed and both versions stay visible. We do not average or guess numbers. See the editorial policy and the full source list.